Posted by: Sarah | April 13, 2012

#FridayReads Tea Party: Bookplates, Pins & Thimble Tea Things

Happy #FridayReads Tea Party, my friends! As I tweeted earlier this week, I am resolved to do my tea parties on Fridays instead of Thursdays as I am notoriously bananapants midweek. Fridays feel like a natural “Aww, shall we tea?” kind of end-of-the-week treat. It’s my version of Friday Happy Hour. I’ll brew the tea, but feel free have a tipple in your teacup if it suits. Two quick announcements:

1) I have bookplates! I’ve actually had them for quite some time and have sent off a few dozen but forgot to make the public announcement. If you do not live in El Paso, which is a greater majority, feel free to email me your mailing address, and I’ll pay for the postage and whatnot to ship you a signed bookplate for your copy of The Baker’s Daughter and/or The Time It Snowed In Puerto Rico. I took a picture of the bookplates to include on this blog, but then decided that’d be ruining the fun. So you’ll just have to wait patiently for your snail mail surprise!

2) I finally acquiesced to my momma and many a dear friends’ pleas to accept the Pinterest invitation. Sigh… I can pretend for about 30 seconds that it’s a painful rabbit hole to fall down but truthfully, who doesn’t love the idea of scrap-booking without the hassle of glue and scissors and dusty shoeboxes of ancient photos? I stopped scrapbooking when I was 22 and never looked back. I have boxes upon boxes of scrapbooks from my youth and college years now gone to rot in the dark of my garage. I never lug them out for company or myself. Why would I? Gluttonous images of me in my youth. Friends cheersing over long forgotten something-or-anothers. I don’t have any interest in reliving those pimple-prone years, and God knows my friends today aren’t interested in my  yearlong junior-high fascination with Martina McBride. (I scrapbooked her to a Single-White-Female degree.)  No, no…

But this Pinterest thing is virtual. I.e. Tree-friendly and totally up to others to decide if they are (P)interested or not. One click and BING–Pinned! I am a complete novice and have only created a handful of boards. I don’t know how far I’ll go with it all. I’ve sworn to seclude myself as best I can from social media during the day so I can hit crucial upcoming deadlines for my future novels. And honestly, this is just another (delightful) way for me to procrastinate. My momma Pinterests. That’s one of my biggest internal seducers: Momma does it. She’d like it if you did it too. It would make her happy. Look at what she’s pinning. So lovely. You must comment and re-pin… 

And the next thing you know, it’s midnight and I’ve been marveling at people’s boards for three hours. All that being said, I’d love it if you popped over and visited–or do they say, ‘Follow’? I’m not sure. I don’t know the etiquette, rules, or lingo of this new Pinterest world just yet. I’m exploring and learning with each new Pin.

Now, to the #FridayReads tea party! 

The Reading:

I have exactly 15 pages left in Lauren Groff’s Arcadia and I’m savoring every sentence. I may have to tweet her to warn that after this novel, I may name my next baby (fur or flesh) Bit. The character she created in him is so lovable and dear. I’m sad he doesn’t truly exist. We need more Bits in reality. 

The Tea:

I’m drinking Formosa Oolong that I purchased at The Tea House in Santa Fe last year. Here’s the description: 

328 C – Formosa Oolong – TW Black
A rarity from Formosa – leaves shine a dark brown, presenting golden brown in the cup.
A darker oolong tea from Taiwan. Formosa means ‘Beautiful’ and was given by the Portuguese explorers of the island. Deep raisiny and ripe fruit aroma, autumn ‘leafy’ note. Lingering flavor and smooth, refreshingly fruity astringency. A lovely introduction to Taiwanese tea.

Lovely, indeed. I’m sipping now and enjoying it as much as I did when I decided to buy my hoarder-esque supply.

Sarah’s Sipping Summary:

I imagine Bit sipping this tea as he ponders the early Americans who arrived hoping for a new start–a utopia where everyone believed in goodness and community. It seems apropos to be drinking a tea whose modest brown leaf bits brew a surprisingly golden cup. 

Remember to email me for signed hard copy bookplates and come check out what new images I’m posting to Pinterest. Cheers, friends! 

Yours truly, Sarah

Responses

  1. I followed you yesterday evening. Fun isn’t it, but a total time suck that Pinterest!

  2. [...] Sarah McCoy Bookplates (The Baker’s Daughter, The Time It Snowed In Puerto Rico) [...]

  3. [...] [...]

  4. [...] Free Sarah McCoy Bookplate [...]

  5. [...] sarahmccoy.wordpress.com/2012/04/13/fridayreads-tea-party/ -contact her here [...]


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30 other followers

