Posted by: Sarah | March 18, 2009

Happy St. Patrick’s Day

I send all of you bouquets of Shamrocks, plates of corned beef & cabbage, and a merry beat on my Bodhran drum! May leprechauns, rainbows, pots of gold and Kelly green be upon ye. I’ve always enjoyed St. Patty’s Day. I love the revelry and Irish music—any song with ‘Too-ra-loo-ra-li’ has me. While my mom is Puerto Rican, my dad is partly Irish (McCoy) as is my husband. So I raise my cup of Irish Breakfast tea in honor as I sit down to work today.

I won’t lie, I’m not wearing green. Jeans and a purple long-sleeve. But there’s no one around to pinch me for it. In truth, I wonder if the pinching rule applies in El Paso where there isn’t much green to spare. Out my writing office window, the only tints I find are the lone oak tree sprouted in the middle of my desert backyard. It’s a smart tree, putting down roots close to the Rio Grande. I doubt it would have faired as well a couple miles up the road. This tree is my seasonal reminder in El Paso’s eternal summertime. It’ll bud pea green for a couple of “springtime” weeks before darkening to a rich summer olive. In the fall (November), the leaves turn gold then quickly fall, leaving bare, woody bones through winter (December-February). I count Mr. Oak as a friend. He reminds me of Virginia. A tall oak tree in the desert, you ask? Yes, indeed. El Paso is full of these kinds of little miracles, both in its landscape and community.

Today, being all about the emerald isle, I was happy to have the sun on my face, Mr. Oak winking bright, and the good company of my fellow El Pasoans. A handful of businesses put green balloons up. That’s the spirit! However, the grocery stores still have ten times more decorations for Cinco de Mayo than St. Patrick’s. Fair enough. I’m not sure our Juarez brothers and sisters have quite the taste for boxties and Guinness. My husband is the human culture bridge. He’ll gobble down bangers and mash as quickly as tacos and rice.

On that intellectually stimulating note, I best get down to work, but I wanted to 1) post a St. Patty’s Day message and 2) illustrate the daily randomness of my musing. No grand hello posting. That’s entirely too much pressure. I figured I’d just start with plain ole Sarah.  I do promise to blog about important events as soon as I have news to report. The gestation period of my first book is a bit like that of an elephant! August 11th can’t come soon enough. Pre-orders are available on Amazon, Target, Random House, etc. And, of course, being the author and wholeheartedly biased, I hope all of you go online and have The Time It Snowed In Puerto Rico shipped straight to your doors (or downloaded to e-book). 😉

I’ll blog again as soon as I can.

Yours truly,

Sarah

Leave a Reply

Categories

