Posted by: Sarah | July 30, 2009

Back from España: A quick note before sleep…

Boqueria Barcelona

I’ve just landed in El Paso with the day stretched out sunny and hot before me. My watch is set 8 hours ahead, Barcelona time, and I know across the globe, the sky is sherbet over La Rambla and the street teems with people hustling to buy cut coconut, ripe tomatoes and cured ham at the boqueria before it closes; the tapas bars are opening their doors and buzzing with the sound of octopus on the grill, wines uncorked and friends telling stories of the day.

Mirador de Colom

As I sit here, exhausted from the long travel and lack of sleep, I’ll draw dream sustenance from where I’ve been while enjoying the never-to-be-beat comfort of my own bed and pillow.

I promise to write more soon. Right now, I need pjs and a cup of tea.

Yours truly,

Sarah

View from the Sagrada Familia spire

Leave a Reply

Categories

