Posted by: Sarah | August 1, 2010

PAPERBACK Release & FREE Gift Bag Contest Deadline

In one day The Time It Snowed In Puerto Rico paperback hits national and Canadian bookshelves. I can’t wait to share this edition with all of you! My publisher sent me an advance copy and I must say, I love what my fabulous design team has done. It’s such a bright, fun and easy novel to slip in your bag and be off on a sunny island adventure. As well, the paperback includes a book club discussion guide and information on Random House’s Read It Forward program. Get a group of friends together and enjoy!

As well, my editor has just informed me that Target is featuring The Time It Snowed In Puerto Rico as their August-September debut author find! So head on over to ‘Tar-jay’ and pick up a copy for a weekend escape.

Lastly, I want to remind all of my lovely readers that the Goodreads giveaway contest honoring the paperback release closes Tuesday, August 3. That’s tomorrow! Click on this link and sign up to win a gift bag full of Puerto Rican treats and, most importantly, a signed copy of the book. I was delighted to be in touch with my last two winners and look forward to sending the next two their package of goodies.

This summer seems to have flown by. I’m perpetually amazed at how soon the stores usher in the fall. Within this first week of August, all the red-and-white checkered table clothes, barbeque tongs, Citronella candles and corn picks are gone and replaced by college rule paper, spiral notebooks, pencils, pens, and tubes of Elmer’s Glue. I watch children, still dripping with pool water, drag their feet behind their mothers eagerly tossing 99-cent erasers, marker packs and hand sanitizer into carts. Even the air feels different come August; the bright clarity of June and July seems weighted, like a summer storm cloud on the verge of bursting. As a child, August was a manic month, half carefree fun and half nervous anticipation. Not much as changed decades later. The end-of-summer shift is palpable.

The wild sunflowers have begun to bloom around El Paso. Tough, scraggly things lining the dirt roads, these aren’t the cultivated flowers of floral boutiques. They’ll continue to grow and thrive through November. Though the desert weather stays relatively the same from Easter to Thanksgiving, the sunflowers are my indicator that the seasons are changing. The Earth is turning, spinning in its orbit, moving forward, and so too must I. It’s an exciting time: the coming fall and holidays thereafter. But the beauty of August is that while it forecasts of lunchboxes and yellow busses, it also whispers “not yet,” giving us reprieve to settle back down in our lawn chairs, run the sprinkler, and enjoy a handful more days of unadulterated summer.

Happy August reading!

Yours truly, Sarah

Responses

  1. Thank you for putting into words how a teacher feels in August. Yes, let’s celebrate these last few weeks of summer before school starts! Love your paperback copy!

  2. Dear Lady by the Lake,

    I LOVE my teachers! And all my librarians! So wonderful to hear from you. I hope you enjoy the waning days of summertime before your students are back in your treasured keep. Thank you for all that you do!

    Happy 2010-2011 academic year, and I hope that my novel serves a good purpose in your classrooms!

    Yours truly, Sarah


Leave a Reply

Categories

