Posted by: Sarah | November 5, 2010

A visit with the Teen Literacy Club at EP High

I write books for days like yesterday. The Teen Literacy Club at El Paso High School was kind enough to invite me to their gathering for a tête-à-tête. What a warm and fabulous welcome I received. I was thrilled by the students’ passion for reading and thoughtful discussion of my novel. There’s nothing like being in the company of other faithful bookworms. My characters draw new life and breath through your imaginations. Nothing fires me up more as an author than to hear how my stories have impacted people–to hear your stories reflected back at mine. It drives me forward in my writing: my search for more characters, places and experiences to introduce you to!

Thank you to all the members and especially to Librarian Paige Parker for organizing the students’ reading of THE TIME IT SNOWED IN PUERTO RICO and doing an extraordinary job as hostess.

I thoroughly enjoyed my visit. Thank you, as well, for the incredibly generous and unexpected gift! Despite a bumpy car ride over Franklin Mountain, they made it home beautifully. Thank you!

I look forward to meeting as many book clubbers as time and travel will allow! See you soon.

Yours truly, Sarah

Leave a Reply

Categories

