Posted by: Sarah | December 19, 2010

January Two Thousand Eleven Events

It’s hard to believe we’re already talking about the New Year. I’ve just gotten used to writing 2010 atop my letters and now, it’s already 2011. This precipitates a question I’ve been debating and practicing aloud for the past year: Is it two thousand eleven or twenty-eleven? My friends and family are split down the middle. Referencing our history books, do we say that the Archbishop of Canterbury was taken prisoner in one thousand eleven or ten-eleven? I say ten-eleven, so why now do I continue to articulate that we live in two thousand ten with two thousand eleven days away.

It’s a little inane thing that, coupled with too many cups of strong black tea, has kept me awake, pondering.

Nonetheless, 2,011 or 20-11—however you prefer—is here! And I’m kicking off the first month with the El Paso Festival Borinqueño in celebration of Three Kings Day, January 6-8th. This fantastic three-day festival is sponsored by the El Paso Library Association, Antojitos Borinqueños, the Puerto Rican Tourism Company, the Institute of Puerto Rican Culture, the Puerto Rican Community Culture of El Paso and many more! I’m honored to be one of the featured authors.

My reading will be from 12:45 p.m. to 1:20 p.m. at the El Paso Main Library (downtown at 501 North Oregon) in the auditorium. Following it, I’ll be signing copies of my novel The Time It Snowed In Puerto Rico. This is a public event to celebrate the Puerto Rican heritage and Three Kings Day. We’ll have music, dancing, art, tasty island treats and literary readings for the whole family. Check out the El Paso Library schedule for all the activities that week/weekend.

¡Prospero Año Nuevo!

Yours truly, Sarah

Leave a Reply

Categories

