Posted by: Sarah | January 20, 2011

Interview & New Excerpt in Barely South Review

I had the privilege of chatting with Barely South Review literary magazine not long ago. That interview is featured in the January 2011 issue, which also happens to be their Special Edition launch into the online world.

I’m thrilled and humbled to be one of the magazine’s interviewees alongside such notable writers as Dennis Lehane (Gone Baby Gone, Shutter Island, Mystic River) Blake Bailey (Cheever: A Life), Bonnie Jo Campbell (Women and Other Animals, Q Road, American Salvage), Ted Conover (Riding the Rails with American’s Hoboes, Newjack: Guarding Sing Sing, The Routes of Man), Natalie Diaz (When My Brother Was an Aztec), Brenda Flanagan (You Alone Are Dancing, Allah In the Islands), Roger Kamenetz (The Jew in the Lotus, The History of Last Night’s Dream, featured on Oprah), and many, many more!

From the magazine’s insightful contributors to its information-packed articles and fresh literary voices, the prose is a fountain of vitality! A lovely change of pace when so many of our lit mags feel weighted down by solemn-faced intelligentsia. This magazine is a brilliant new addition to the online literary community and is not to be missed! I’ve just spent almost two and a half hours reading and enjoying each story, and I encourage you to do the same.

As a bonus, you’ll get a sneak peek at my third novel. A short excerpt is published within.

Third novel, you ask? What about your second? My second novel, The Baker’s Daughter, will be on sale from Crown/Random House at the end of this year. My third book is still in creative development. Only Barely South Review has access to a glimpse of her. I have to contain my excitement, because I simply cannot wait for all of you to meet the characters in both of these new books. In my interview with BSR, I provide more details and hints as to their plots and subject matter.

Have I peaked your interest? I hope so. Now head on over to Barely South Review and check it out.

Yours truly, Sarah

Leave a Reply

Categories

