Posted by: Sarah | February 10, 2011

Reader Correspondence

Here are a handful of the many letters I received from Ms. Meyer’s student readers. I wish I could post them all! But for the sake of blog space, I had to limit my excitement.

Thank you to all of the students who took the time to write and share their personal stories of how The Time It Snowed In Puerto Rico affected them and how they related to Verdita’s journey. Your kind, generous notes meant more than I could ever express. And thanks again to Ms. Meyer’s for making literature a proactive experience for your classes! I hope your students continue to be veracious readers, and I look forward to hearing from them again in the future.

As we brave the wintry weather and frigid temperatures, I can’t help but wish to jump on a plane and take off for the warm beaches of Puerto Rico. My grandparents are there now, eating coconuts in the sun. They say it is positively picturesque. Meanwhile, I’m going to sleep to the drip of my faucet. (The city water company has decreed that we leave them on overnight to keep the pipes from freezing!) So I snuggle down deep in my blankets and image that the drip is a passing tropical shower or multiplied by a million and transformed into waves on Aguadilla Beach…

Yours warmly, Sarah

 

 

Dear Ms. McCoy:

My fellow classmates and I have just finished your novel The Time It Snowed in Puerto Rico and let me just say it was the most detailed, exciting and hidden-clue story I have ever read. I personally loved the book!  I am Brione and you are my inspiration for becoming a writer! Thank you for everything that you have done for your readers.

My favorite scene in The Time It Snowed in Puerto Rico would have to be when Verdita and Papi go to see President Kennedy.  The whole situation of Verdita being alone with Papi and laughing, having a good time, and forgetting about everything else reminds me of when I’m with my dad. Even if we’re just going to the grocery store, he always makes me happy!

If you don’t mind telling me, what was it like in Puerto Rico for you? Is your novel a true story?

I would just like to thank you, Ms. McCoy, for taking time out of your busy schedule to read my letter. I really do look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely, Brione

 

Dear Ms. McCoy:

Hi, Ms. McCoy. My name is Ronetra and I’m one of Ms. Meyer’s students. My class and I just finished the book called The Time It Snowed in Puerto Rico.

The scene that I liked was when Mama had the babies. I could relate to this scene because my mama’s best friend had twins who were a girl and a boy. When she delivered the twins, the girl passed and the boy stayed alive. The mama was highly upset that one of the babies passed away.

In my life, my family and I move back and forth between California and Milwaukee, kind of like Verdita feels torn between Puerto Rico and the U.S. California is a very beautiful place. I like going there because of the nice weather and the good food that they have.

Ms. McCoy, thank you for the gifts that you sent to my class.

Sincerely, Ronetra

 

Dear Ms. McCoy:

Hello. My name is Javon and I’m Puerto Rican. I love this book greatly. The Time It Snowed in Puerto Rico should get an award of some type.

My favorite scene is when Omar and Verdita dare each other to sit in the rooster room. The tension that seemed to be in Verdita was so visible and I could feel it. I could see what she saw, the tiny shadows. I was confused at the end of the book because I was wondering why Verdita’s parents didn’t go with her to the US.

Sincerely, Javon

 

Dear Ms. McCoy:

My favorite scene from your book was when Mama had twin babies and the girl passed away.  I can really relate to this scene because it happened to my auntie. She was very sick and wasn’t able to hold the twins anymore. The doctors really couldn’t give her too much medicine because of the babies. My mother had to constantly rush her back and forth to the hospital. For some odd reason, one time was different.  She was in pain and she wasn’t due. She was bleeding and crying and mad at anything you could think of. Just like Senora Delgado told Mama to eat and drink certain things, my mama told my auntie that.  My auntie had to go through a C-section to deliver the babies.  The only difference between my auntie and Mama in the book was that my auntie’s twins lived.  They were both okay. They just had to spend a little time at the hospital. She had two boys. She named them Anthony and Antonio.  That is the same name but in different languages. Also, she can still have kids. She is truly blessed and so is Mama in the book.

Sincerely, Kerriuna

 

Dear Ms. McCoy:

My name is Denisse.  I am in Ms. Meyer’s English class, and we just finished reading The Time It Snowed in Puerto Rico.  It was a great novel. I think my life can relate to some parts of the story.

One of the scenes I can relate to is when Verdita’s mom is in pain and about to have the baby, and she tells Verdita to go get Senora Delgado and Papi. This is similar to something I went through because, when my mom was pregnant, she got really bad contractions, so I had to call my dad to come home from work. I also had to go to my aunt’s house across the street and tell her to give my mom a ride to the hospital.

Thanks for reading my letter. I look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely, Denisse

 

Dear Ms. McCoy:

My name is Ricardo. Our English class just finished The Time It Snowed in Puerto Rico.  The book was really interesting and I understood the things you said in Spanish because I’m Puerto Rican and I could relate to the story.

I could relate to the scene when Verdita was surprised to see her new brother at the hospital. I remember, when my brother was born, I was surprised and not that happy, but that’s because I was a kid.

Thanks very much for reading my letter, Ms. McCoy. I appreciate everything.

Sincerely, Ricardo

 

Dear Ms. McCoy

My name is Krista. I just finished reading your very interesting novel The Time It Snowed in Puerto Rico. I really enjoyed it a lot.

I had a sister named Emily who died at birth just like Verdita’s little sister. She was just a couple months older than me and I felt like I knew her my whole life. Why did you have Verdita’s little sister die? Did this happen to you? I have pictures of my big sister when she was alive for those few minutes.

Thank you for reading my letter and I look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely, Krista

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

