Posted by: Sarah | April 26, 2011

Recipes: Black Forest Brownies & Hatch Green Chile Chicken

I promised a handful of lovely Twitter friends that I’d provide these two recipes from my humble kitchen cookbook. If and when you make these, I’d love to hear how your culinary creations turn out!

Black Forest MC Brownies

First, I have to thank Jael McHenry (THE KITCHEN DAUGHTER) for lending me her “Midnight Cry Brownies” recipe. I married her chocolaty perfection with my old family Black Forest Cake (THE BAKER’S DAUGHTER). So in a metaphorical sense, our delectable daughters are having a play date in the oven. The result is an ultimate sugar darling!

Recipe:

1 stick butter (melted)

½ cup cocoa

1 T. ground instant espresso powder

3 eggs

1 cup sugar

1 t. vanilla

½ cup flour

½ t. sea salt

1 cup pitted chopped cherries (when in season) or 1 cup canned cherry pie filling

1/3 cup Kirschwasser (cherry liquor)

Chocolate chips (semisweet and white) for topping

Preheat oven to 350° F.

In a small bowl, mix the melted butter, cocoa and espresso powder. In another bowl, combine chopped cherries and Kirschwasser and let them marry up a spell.

In a larger bowl, beat eggs to a froth then whisk in sugar and butter mixture. Add vanilla, salt and flour. Fold the macerated cherries gently into batter until well combined. Pour into 8×8 greased glass pan.

Sprinkle semisweet and white chocolate chips on top.

Bake 30- 35 minutes until toothpick in center comes out a little chocolaty. Let sit on counter until cool—so the gooiness sets up nice. If you have whipped cream on hand, plop a heap atop and gild that lily!

Personal side note: I included a batch of these in my husband’s Easter package. Baked in the morning and mailed in the afternoon with 2-day delivery to Chicago. I won major brownie points for this one. Now you can too!

Hatch (New Mexico) Green Chile Chicken

If you follow me on Twitter or know me well, you understand my rekindled love for the Crock-Pot (thank you Christy). Traditionally, the folks here make this dish on the stovetop, allowing the meat (chicken, pork or beef) and chiles to simmer together for hours. I prefer the slow-cooking method so I can work while this churns itself into a chile pot o’scrumptiousness. I know when it’s ready by the smell. So rich and savory, it calls me down from my writing office. I can’t fight it. See if you can…

Recipe:

2 t. olive oil

3-4 chicken breasts

3 small garlic cloves (finely minced)

1 shallot (finely chopped)

1-2 T. chicken broth

28 oz. Hatch, NM chiles (roasted, peeled, seeded and chopped)

1-2 T. chopped jalapeno pepper

1 t. cumin

1/8 t. salt

1/8 t. white pepper

2-3/4 cup chicken broth

2 large fresh tomatoes (peeled and chopped)

In skillet, heat olive oil over medium-high heat. Sauté chicken breasts until they have a nice brown tan (caramelized on both sides). Take them out of the pan and place inside Crock-Pot. Add garlic and shallot to skillet. As soon as garlic starts to hiss at you, add a little chicken broth to deglaze the pan and scrape off the good stuff stuck to the bottom. Pour mixture over chicken breasts in Crock.

Add chiles, spices, chicken broth and tomatoes into Crock-Pot. Cover and simmer on low 6-8 hours or high 4-6 hours. 1-2 hours before supper, take out the chicken breasts and shred with two forks. Place the shredded meat back into the pot for a flavor jacuzzi.

This recipe freezes like a champ and can be served alone. (I have no self-control. I eat it straight out of the Crock standing at the kitchen counter!) Or you can use it in burritos, rellenos, chimichangas, etc.

People claim roasted chicken to be the dish that gets a man to marry you. In this part of the country, I swear it’s the green chile chicken. The heat gets people… heated. Capsaicin is the Southwest aphrodisiac. Take caution when enjoying!

I can’t wait to hear how you like both of these. Writing these up has made my mouth water. I’m off to the kitchen!

Check back soon for details on my second novel, THE BAKER’S DAUGHTER (Crown/Random House).

Yours truly, Sarah 

Responses

  1. Both of these recipes look like winners. The brownies look positively decadent and I love anything spicy and that I can cook in a crockpot. Thanks for sharing with us 🙂

  2. You are a GODDESS! Now I just have to see if my mom can ship me some good chile’s. Thank you for sharing. I’m looking forward to making both of these.

  3. First of all… The Kitchen Daughter was *awesome* and second of all…I’m trying to lose, not gain weight before BEA and the picture of these brownies is not going to help me…! 🙂 lol, now I have to make them this week…!


Leave a Reply

Categories

