Posted by: Sarah | May 24, 2011

EVENT: Glen Ellyn Bookfest 2011

I’m honored and excited to participate in the Glen Ellyn Bookfest 2011 in Chicago on Saturday, June 18! After a handful of visits, I’ve quickly formed a deep affection for the Windy City. Each time (despite the wind and rain of my May excursion), the good readers and residents have welcomed me and made me feel right at home. So when the fabulous organizers of the Glen Ellyn Bookfest (Margie and Sue from The Bookstore) approached me to be on the festival’s Adult Literary Luncheon panel, I jumped at the chance to return to Chicago and dine with lovely readers. When I discovered that my fellow panelists were none other than the esteemed Luis Urrea, Cristina Henriquez and Brigid Pasulka, I knew it was too good to be true. Here’s a quick description of the event from the bookfest brochure:

The 2nd Annual Downtown Glen Ellyn Bookfest is pleased to welcome four noted authors to the Bookfest Literary Luncheon from Noon to 1:30pm on Saturday, June 18, 2011 at Glen Oak Restaurant, 479 Pennsylvania in Glen Ellyn.

This year’s Literary Luncheon,  ”Inspired by Our History” includes Luis Urrea (author of The Hummingbird’s Daughter and its highly anticipated sequel, the Queen of America, coming in December 2011), Cristina Henriquez (author of The World in Half), Sarah McCoy (author of The Time It Snowed In Puerto Rico), and Brigid Pasulka (author of the PEN Hemingway Award-winning book, A Long, Long Time Ago & Essentially True).  The authors will rotate around the restaurant and discuss their books, which all involve stories inspired by the authors’ own ancestors, who herald from Mexico, Poland, Panama and Puerto Rico. The Glen Oak Restaurant will pair their stories with unique ethnic menu choices created specifically for this event.

All of my fellow panelists are brilliant writers and amazingly charismatic. So I anticipate this will be a truly festive afternoon. I hope everyone in the Chicago area comes out to the GE Bookfest and to the luncheon. I’d be pleased as punch to meet each of you and chat about how our histories inspire our stories.

The menu includes a feast of dishes, each thoughtfully created to mirror the panelists’ story backgrounds. I’m sure you’ll be able to guess my menu choice. Loosely based on one of my abuelita’s chicken recipes, this is an American twist.

Verdita’s Pollo Americano Big Salad: grilled chicken breast marinated in a traditional Puerto Rican sofrito of culantro, sweet peppers, onions, roasted garlic, tomatoes and cilantro, served atop a lush bed of romaine lettuce, capers and olives in a light vinaigrette with a side of multigrain bread.

Don’t wait to purchase your tickets! I’ll be at Glen Oak Restaurants with bells on.

Yours truly, Sarah


Leave a Reply

Categories

