Posted by: Sarah | October 3, 2011

Awesome News for The Baker’s Daughter!

And it’s not just my return from Facebook/Twitter hiatus. Though, I’m pretty pumped to be back in the social media loop. Two weeks seemed an awfully long time… but it did provide me with a fresh perspective. I now wholeheartedly appreciate every minute I spend tweeting and chatting with all of you, good friends in the Kingdom of Social Media.

While I was away some fabulous news arrived for my second novel The Baker’s Daughter

1) I’m over the moon and deeply humbled to have received amazing advance praises from authors I truly admire. Dear friends, thank you for raising your glasses to The Baker’s Daughter

“A beautiful, heart-breaking gem of a novel written just the way I like them, with the past coming back to haunt the present, endearing heroines and a sunny, hopeful ending. You’ll wolf it up in one delicious gulp.”

Tatiana de Rosnay, international bestselling author of Sarah’s Key and A Secret Kept

The Baker’s Daughter was a constant warm companion to me during cross-country travels, a novel I looked forward to returning to night after night.  The rare book in which the modern-day story is as compelling as the wartime tale it contains, The Baker’s Daughter offers a look at Nazi Germany through the lens of the immigration issues of our own time.  El Paso, TX and Garmisch, Germany make for an unexpected harmony of flavors.”

Jenna Blum, international bestselling author of The Stormchasers and Those Who Save Us

“A sensitive, multilayered novel, this is a moving examination of the effect war and the politics of exclusion, have on the human heart.”

Amanda HodgkinsonNew York Times bestselling author of 22 Brittania Road

“A haunting and beautiful story… Spanning sixty years, and taking on forms of human cruelty and indifference ranging from the Nazis to modern-day immigration reform, McCoy forces us to examine the choices we make. I was riveted from start to finish.”

– J. Courtney SullivanNew York Times bestselling author of Commencement and Maine

“This is a beautifully told, richly detailed story that grabs your heart from page one and keeps its hold long after the last page. It is a book to discuss, to share and ultimately to savor.”

Sarah Jio, author of The Violets of March

“Elsie Schmidt is the brave and unforgettable heroine of Sarah McCoy’s beautifully written tale of family, friendship, and love. The Baker’s Daughter demonstrates how the past can teach us–if only we will listen.”

Kelly O’Connor McNees, author of The Lost Summer of Louisa May Alcott

“Sarah McCoy’s The Baker’s Daughter explores what happens when our loyalties (to country, cause, family, religion) clash with our intuition. A complex braiding of mystery, history, and personality, this novel is engaging and wonderful.”

Sheri Reynolds, New York Times bestselling author of The Rapture of Canaan 

One day, I hope to bring over a bottle of champagne and clink my glass of bubbly with each of these fine writers. 


2) I’m equally excited and parading around with jazz-hands that The Baker’s Daughter has been chosen as a Featured Alternate Selection of the Literary Guild, Doubleday Book Club and Doubleday Large Print

So all in all, I’d say it’s been a mighty fine couple of weeks, and the festivities will continue through fall. On November 1, get ready for a new www.SarahMcCoy.com website! It’s taken every ounce of self-control I possess not to share tidbits. What I can say is that if you pre-order The Baker’s Daughter, you’ll be set for all kinds of exciting upcoming events and giveaways! 

That’s the news from here, folks. Happy October! I’m so happy to be back in touch with all of you, and promise to tweet/post/blog much more very soon. 

Yours truly, Sarah 

Responses

  1. What great news! Congratulations!!

  2. All wonderful news. The Baker’s Daughter is in my cart at bn.com, I was hoping for a sale coupon to help me out, but the pre-order is a done deal…I simply can’t wait until January.
    Congratulations my friend, and good to have you back!!

  3. Such great news all around. I’d be striking poses with Jazz Hands every time I slid across the kitchen in my socks. =) Well done!

  4. This is all so wonderful!! I’m dying to read it!!

    xoxo

  5. Wonderful, wonderful news, Sarah. I am so so excited for you.
    xxx

  6. Thanks for sharing the tremendous news about your book. All that slaving away at your desktop is paying off. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

