Posted by: Sarah | March 16, 2012

Tucson Festival of Books Recap, The Baker’s Daughter News, and a St. Patty’s Tea Party

I had the honor and privilege of participating in the 2012 Tucson Festival of Books! It was a marvelous weekend chalked full of amazing author friends and a packed schedule of wonderful memories. It would take me ten pages to describe what a ball we had. Every hour held a phenomenal surprise. I absolutely adored all of my fellow panelists and moderators: Naomi Benaron, Ilie Ruby, Randy Susan Meyers, Kristina McMorris, Daniel Rothand, Eileen Connell, and Teresa Welborn. I can’t thank them enough for their generosity and excellent company.

The welcoming and joyful climate of sunny Arizona was certainly pervasive. New forever friendships bloomed with authors I greatly admire. In addition, I was able to hug the stuffing out of old, treasured friends I see far too little of throughout the year. Distance is such an awful impediment to these love-fests. Teleportation really ought to be invented immediately so I can jump from coast to coast in a blink.

Here are a handful of photos from the weekend’s festivities, which included a WWII-costumed Skype Party for our winning book club (The All Saints Book Club in Illinois). Jenna Blum, Ruta Sepetys, Kristina McMorris, Diana Gabaldon and I had an illegal amount of fun together. Well—not literally illegal. Unless you consider 40s head attire and boas illegal, which could be debatable. If you want to see the uncensored Tucson album, including pics of our shenanigans, you can find them on my Facebook Fan Page. I know they’ll stay between us, good friends.


Today happens to be my husband’s birthday so I’d be remise if I didn’t acknowledge that it’s a special day for him—and me! You see, I’ve been celebrating this date with him for the past 14 years. Around the decade mark, it started to feel as much like my birthday as his. So a big happy birthday! And yes, I baked.

This week’s reading roundup for THE BAKER’S DAUGHTER:

“… contrasting current day Texas and the struggles with illegal immigrants with the struggles in Germany. A parallel is found between old and young, and the best part – it happens in a bakery where the most mouth-watering goods are prepared… I thoroughly enjoyed this story by Sarah McCoy. I found it to be extremely well-written, the characters to be easy to sympathize with, and the ending was one that left me with a good feeling of satisfaction.”
~The Lost Entwife

“…as close to perfect as you can get. I was equally engaged in both Reba and Elsie’s stories because they were both written with equal skill, researched well and balanced beautifully…This one is definitely on my keeper shelf.”
~Books Like Breathing, 5-starred review

“… heart wrenching storyline that has me turning pages far into the night. Such is the case with Sarah McCoy’s The Baker’s Daughter!”
~Amused By Books

“The Baker’s Daughter reminds me of why I read fiction. Thinking about the ideas brought up in McCoy’s novel, I don’t get depressed. I feel rejuvenated, affirmed that caring is not wrong, that it matters to me to live by the tenets I hold dear and that what I do matters. Reading fiction isn’t hiding from the world. It’s gathering strength to carry on.”
~Daily Kos

“McCoy’s masterful characterizations make it easy to forget that The Baker’s Daughter is a novel. Readers form such tight connections to Elsie and Reba that we rejoice in their victories and let the tears flow at their sorrows. We learn the importance of opening our hearts to others and that the smallest acts of questioning, bravery and rebellion, can help change the world.”
~SheKnows.com

“McCoy nails it… This is a novel of mothers and daughters, sisters (and grandmothers), of romance, love, war, fear, insecurity, patriotism, cowardice, lies, despair, and, ultimately, truth and understanding.”
~Sunny Solomon, Bookin’ With Sunny

“I could hardly put down The Baker’s Daughter. The vivid prose, fascinating characters, and suspenseful plot kept me turning pages long past my bed time. The present and the past are interwoven seamlessly, and I found myself reading as fast as I could to find out what happened in each time, though I loved reading both time periods equally.”
~Erika Robuck, historical book reviewer and author of Hemingway’s Girl 

Two links for you to hear me chat about THE BAKER’S DAUGHTER:
Reading With Robin Radio Show: Robin Kall invited me on her show for a fabulous chat!
Blog Talk Radio: Author Kristina McMorris and I discuss about our newest books.

Worldwide news for THE BAKER’S DAUGHTER:
The translation rights have been sold to Holland (Meulenhoff Boekerij), Italy (Mauri Spagnol/Nord), Norway (Gyldendal) and Turkey (Pegasus).So if you’re in one of those countries or have relations in them, the book is on its way to you. Stay tuned for more exciting announcements as The Baker’s Daughter flies across the globe!

Essays from the week:
I was honored to be invited back to The Divining Wandto answer the question “Why I Write.” I bet you didn’t know how painfully shy I was as a child. Writing helped me find my voice.
The Indie Reader Houstongot a peak inside The Baker’s Daughter‘s test kitchen!

The Reading:
I’m still reading Seré Prince Halverson’s Underside of Joy and enjoying it immensely! I’m off to Denver for a reading and signing at Tattered Cover Books soon (3/23) and know I’ll finish this novel on the airplane there. I’ll start a new read on my return. Waiting in the ranks is my lovely and cherished friend Amy MacKinnon’s novel Tethered. Amy and I both began our publishing careers in Crown’s imprint Shaye Areheart Books, so I consider her more than a fellow author—she’s a publishing family member.

In this immediate moment, however, I’m reading my cookbook and devising a way to fuse two recipes into one: cake + custard. Hm…

The Tea:
In honor of St. Patrick’s Day, I’m sipping Bewley’s Original. Instead of my usually post describing the tea flavor, I thought I’d spotlight Bewley’s as a company. I’m particularly taken by it not only because their products are top-notch but also by virtue of their upstanding business practice. Their commitment to ethical treatment of the land from which their teas and coffees derive as well as the people who live in these areas is truly something to be modeled by companies across the globe. Ethical. Sustainable. Organic. Fairtrade certified. Right up my alley!

Here’s what they have to say: At Bewley’s we believe that all companies have a duty to act fairly in business – in a way that does not disadvantage producers, farmers and growers.

Sarah’s Sipping Summary:
I believe my dark, rich brew and Bewley’s commitment to wholesome production mirrors my baking. I’ve made (what else!) German chocolate cupcakes with creamy banana custard piped inside and a light peanut butter frosting. Oh yea, I do believe my Irish birthday boy will be pleased.

Cheers, m’dears and a happy early St. Patrick’s Day to all my fellow Irish lads and lasses!

Yours truly, Sarah

Responses

  1. Wow, what a whirlwind and happy birthday to your hubby! Have a great day!

  2. Happy birthday to your Wahoo husband!

  3. LOVE the recap — and you, my friend — for too many reasons to count.


Leave a Reply

Categories

