Posted by: Sarah | May 16, 2012

Parnassus Books and Music City, here I come!

By the time you read this, I’ll be flying high and fast from Texas to another boot-lovin’ sister state: Tennessee! I’ve dreamt of visiting Parnassus Books for months and the day has finally arrived. In case you aren’t familiar, the fabulous Parnassus Books is currently the single literary beacon in Nashville. Yep, you heard right. It’s the only bookstore in town. If that wasn’t enough to brand it the stuff of author nirvana, then the fact that it’s owned and nurtured by the illustrious Ann Patchett would certainly earn it star status. Personally, I’d buff AP’s nails (fingers and toes) if she requested. But that’s between us…

I paraded around with jazz hands for a good week after being invited to do a reading and signing at Parnassus Books, and as the date approached, my anticipation has bloomed to full pompom waving. Now I find out that they are not only hosting me, but generously throwing a full-fledged Nashville soiree: wine, friends and books! How could I not curl my toes under with excitement? Check out their Facebook page for more info. If you are in the Nashville area, I’d absolutely love to see you Thursday night!

The cherry on top of my trip came from the kind folks at The Nashville Scene. They saw fit to announce my arrival to the broader Nashvillian gentry so that I might be directed to the best Music City has to offer. Check that out here. I love that this article tags me with Gwyneth Paltrow and Whiskey Kitchen. It could not get any better than that. Seriously. The warm hospitality has me clicking the heels of my blinged-out boots: “There’s no place like Nashville!”

Again, here are the official details:

One last gush over Ann Patchett–okay, maybe two. 1) She’s currently paperback touring for State of Wonder and I tell you, if she’s anywhere near you, I would consider it a personal slap to my face if you didn’t go and clap mightily for me. State of Wonder was one of my favorite books of 2011. I even insisted my parents listen to the book on tape during a road trip, so now they, too are Patchett peeps. 2) Watch this interview of AP on The Colbert Report. I dare you not to think she’s the bee’s knees afterward. The woman went toe to toe with Stephen Colbert and came away with a wink her eye. THAT, my friends, is how a lady throws down. 
I’ll be sure to post pics when I’m back home next week! 
Yours truly, Sarah 
Responses

  1. Have a great time. Pics with Ann Patchett required!

  2. Loved watching the Stephen Colbert interview With Ann! Fabulous! Can’t wait to hear you in Gaithersburg!


Leave a Reply

Categories

