Posted by: Sarah | May 30, 2012

A Summer Social

Photo by Eleane McCoy

I’m not sure how best to categorize this blog entry. It’s not our standard Tea Party or a news flash, no Hey Doc or giveaway. It’s simply been far too long since I blogged and I thought I owed you, friends, an explanation… a catch-up, a here’s-where-I’ve-been post. So please excuse the informality of this entry. Memorial Day has come and gone, which means summer’s spell is officially making everyone walk a little slower, crave sweet iced tea and frozen yogurt pies, pull out the lawn sprinklers and pool floaties. I’m there already. The temperature in El Paso has been in the 90s for weeks, but I haven’t been able to fully give myself over to the magical season. Life and book travels have kept me indoors for the most part.

The Baker’s Daughter meets Bel Canto

First off, I want to thank each and every one of you for your support, prayers, and constant encouragement while my husband, Doc B, was ill and recovering. It’s amazing how quickly the body can all at once fall apart and then put itself back together. While his return to good health has been slow and full of unexpected obstacles, I’m happy to be able to “look back” on it and see the positives—the wonderful loved ones, friends and dear strangers that came to my side. So thank you!

I was living out of a suitcase for another couple weeks while traveling to book events. My first stop was Parnassus Books in Nashville. I can’t praise the staff and bookstore enough. Such southern hospitality. Such a fabulous time. Lifelong friends were forged. I’ll be returning to Nashville in October to present at the Southern Festival of Books and simply can’t wait to spend time with my Parnassus family!

Next stop was Metro DC for the Gaithersburg Book Festival. Shew-wee. Where to even start! The entire weekend of festivities is bedazzled in my memory. While presenting at the festival was a true honor, the fellow authors, book festival staff, and devoted readers were the real treasures. If you aren’t familiar with GBF, get familiar. It’s on its way to being one of the country’s most renowned book festivals. It has the spirit of book love–intimate, inviting, insightful and invigorating! That’s a whole lot of unintentional alliteration but very much deserved. On my Facebook page, you can click through my GBF album and see how the marvelous day unfolded.

More news includes a delightful and much appreciated review from the Historical Novel Society: “Replete with raw emotion and suspense, The Baker’s Daughter is a fascinating journey through a horrifying time in world history that will resonate long after you close the book.”–May 2012 (Issue 60)

And… the big shebang was The Baker’s Daughter‘s release in Holland, followed by its quick rise to the Dutch Bestsellers List! JAZZ HANDS! I am so, so grateful to my Dutch publisher (Meulenhoff Boekerij) and all the amazing love they have given my novel. My Dutch team is absolutely the best!

Now, I’m finally home but no rest for the weary. I have a writing deadline in June so I’m quickly changing caps: Book Touring Sarah for Writer Hermit Sarah. I’m hunkering down, as my dad likes to say during storms. It’s me, my laptop and my next novel’s characters that I’ve been telling to hush-hush-now for months while on the road.

My dear friend and author extraordinaire, Madeline Miller said it was hard for her to fathom that I’ve been on the road back and forth since February. I knew that, yes, but it was one of those zinger moments when I stopped long enough to take in the reality. Is it really almost June? No, impossible. And, yet, the calendar doesn’t lie. And this is when summer bewitched me or rather, broke the whirlwind spell I was under. Sloooowwww dowwwnnnn, it’s whispering. Take a moment in the sunshine. Listen to the wind through your four (yes, you heard me, I now have FOUR!) trees in the backyard. Brew your tea with a squeeze of lemon. It’s okay to go barefoot for an entire day. Let your hair go curly wild. Dream. It’s summertime. I encourage you all to do the same. 

Yours truly, Sarah

Responses

  1. Wow, I hope you’ve had time to rest and catch your breath too! It was great to see you again!


Leave a Reply

Categories

